Dajia Hao,

 
I hope you are all doing well! How is everyone doing. I would love to get more DearElder letters from the family! I read the letters that Matt sent me about the Chinese parables. I really liked them! I felt like they were perfect for me as a missionary. I’ll definitely use them in my lessons, when applicable. I appreciate the packages too. Thanks for sending them. I looked at Matt’s drawings in the card again the other day. It made my day!
 
I’m sorry if I sound detached from all of you. First off, I only have one hour to email and I’m a slow writer. Also, I don’t want to get distracted. I feel like thinking too much about home will take me away from the work that I need to do now.
 
There’s this article in the Ensign for the September 2013 edition called “The Healing Balm of Hope” by Vaughn E. Worthen. I feel like this is a pretty applicable article for all of the family. The author provided a list for the necessary ingredients to help hope develop. This is the list: faith in God; righteous living; positive expectations; living with purpose; setting and working toward goals; initiating and sustaining personal effort; bridling thoughts, emotions, and behaviors; a willingness to tackle challenges; competence in creating healthy relationships. I want to give you all a challenge to try to apply all of these things in your life. I promise you that you all will be much stronger people. I promise you that you will have a hope that can’t be deterred. 
 
I’m striving to be a better example. I’m sorry if I haven’t been the best example that I could be for the family. I’m trying my best though now. President Uchtdorf said, “Love is the defining characteristic of a disciple of Christ.” I’m hoping that I can love better. I’ve been learning this past couple days that my mission is all about love. I hope that I can have a greater love for everybody by the end of my mission. Remember that I love you all. I hope you all don’t think I don’t care about you all because I do.
 
You all need to hear this song called “My Kindness Shall Not Depart From Thee.” My companion accompanied a girl for a vocal performance at yesterday’s Sunday devotional. It is one of the most moving songs I have ever heard. I feel like this is a song you all need to listen to. If any of you don’t mind, could you find the lyrics to this song and send it to me? That would be great!
 
The fact that I am leaving pretty soon has finally hit. I already have in-field orientation in 2 weeks. I’m pretty sure I’ll be reassigned somewhere state-side though because no one leaving for Australia has gotten their visas on time, even though we’ve been here for 9 weeks.
 
Keep in touch! I love hearing from all of you. I love you!
 
Love,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan
 
Leave a Reply

