Dajia Hao,

Thank you so much for all of your loving, supportive emails. All of your emails touched my heart. Thanks Matt for reminding me of the quote from the book Slaughter-House Five: “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.” I feel like that is a quote I’m going to be deciphering throughout my mission. I feel like I am still figuring out what I can change and what I can’t. Anyways, don’t worry, we got beds. We got some top quality beds, so it was worth the wait. It took us two whole afternoons to put together the the bed frames and desks, so we we couldn’t be as productive with missionary work as we could have been this past week. We’ve been eating just pasta, noodles, and stuff like that. Nothing too exciting, since I’m the one cooking all of the time. We had our first dinner appointment yesterday though. They fed us cranberry chicken and dark chocolate cheese cake pieces, which was the best food I have eaten since I was set apart as a missionary. And don’t worry, I have been looking both ways when I cross the street. I look the wrong way all of the time though when I am crossing. I keep forgetting that I should be looking right first and then left. It trips me up all of the time

Dad, we’ve been getting pass along cards from the Church, so I don’t think we need calling cards or anything. Thanks though for offering to make me some though. I don’t think I need the iPod Nano anymore. Maybe if you could burn me some CDs from the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, that would be great!
 

This past week was still pretty rough, but I felt like I have grown so much last week. I really felt like I was being pushed and pulled in every way possible. I was humbled. I realized how imperfect I am. I realized how much room there is for me to grow. I know God needed me to experience everything I experienced this last week. I know that this is God’s way of molding me into what He wants me to become. I hope to become a better disciple of Christ each and everyday.

I feel like I was really tested on whether or not I am willing to give up my will for the Lord’s will. I felt like I was concerned more for myself than I was about getting the Lord’s work done. I felt like I was more concerned about embarrassing myself than thinking about how I can help others. This is a huge flaw of mine that I need to work on. I need to turn outward, not inward. 

I was refreshed after district meeting, new missionary training, and church. New missionary training was exactly what I needed. We spent 24 hours learning how to become an ideal missionary. We got training from President Henderson, his wife, the assistants to the president, and Elder Johnson (a senior missionary that we met in the Provo MTC). The ABM’s (stands for Australia Brisbane Mission) culture is “coming unto Christ.” The ABM’s goal is for us to become more like Christ. President Henderson said that he wants us to adopt this culture now and have it the rest of our lives. He also taught us how to have a “perfect morning.” He said that a “perfect morning” consists of getting ready to exercise when we are supposed to and then do all of our studies. He also included that when we exercise, we should exercise like we are training for the Olympics. Yeah, no pressure.

Anyways, how are you all doing? I’m hoping you are all doing great. Keep in touch. Keep emailing. I really appreciate all of the support. Thank you. Before I send this, I want to invite you all to start building a culture of “coming unto Christ” in your lives. If there is anything in your culture now that is not in harmony with the culture of “coming unto Christ,” throw it out. Just figure out how to better become like Christ and apply what you learn throughout your days.

I miss you all! Love you all!

Love,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan

P.S. The first picture is of the Brisbane city from the outlook that is right across the street from the Brisbane temple. The next picture is of all of the “goldens” at the end of our new missionary training. The last picture, from left to right, is me, Sister Lai (my companion), Sister Ng, Sister Taylor, Sister Johnson, and Elder Johnson. We live in the same flat as Sister Ng and Sister Taylor. That picture was taken the day that we arrived in Australia. The last two pictures I got are from australiabrisbanemission.com. Go check this blog out!
 
Leave a Reply

