Dajia Hao!

I finally got the ward package. I got it at zone meeting last week. Tell them I said thank you. I got heaps of food. It will probably last me the whole mission with the amount of food I got from you all and the ward. Oh yeah, my companions love polvoron. They said it is “wanmei.” Wanmei means perfect in Chinese. Maybe you can send more in the next package. Did you like the food that I gave to you all? Is there anything you want more of? Super random question, is my Facebook still around? Apparently, if we do not log onto our Facebook in a long time, it goes on lock down. Just let me know if my Facebook all of a sudden disappears. Thanks! 

This past week has been a pretty good week so far. Sorry, I forgot to tell you all last week that we were going to have our P-day on Wednesday this week instead of Monday because of the temple. I just came back from the temple. I was able to run into the whole River Terrace district (my old district). They had their district meeting at the same time we came out of the temple. The temple and the chapel are right next to each other. I had to talk to them anyways because we were told that all of the Chinese-speaking sisters will be doing a musical number at Sister’s Conference, which is for all of the sister missionaries of the ABM. We are all going to sing. It is going to be next week Thursday. Did I tell you that I sang a duet at Arash’s baptism? Sister Jensen and I sang “I Stand All Amazed.” 

The Australia Brisbane mission baptized over 600 people in the year of 2013. The ABM is the highest baptizing mission in all of Australia. I feel like the reason that the ABM is getting so many baptisms is because our mission is big on exact obedience. They really try to drill it into us to be obedient in all that we do. I feel like this really plays into why we have so much success as missionaries. 

This past week, I realized that I really need to speak Chinese a lot more. I felt like my Chinese has not improved since I first arrived in EMP. Just these past couple of days, I have been only speaking Chinese and I feel like my Chinese has improved heaps. President Henderson told me that Sister Chen is only allowed to speak English ever other day in the flat, while me and Sister Jensen will only speak in Chinese from now on.

We had interviews with President Henderson yesterday. I was surprised how good the meeting was. All of the missionaries that met in our chapel did a training with the AP’s. We did role plays with the AP’s. Since we had a Chinese-speaking AP, he observed me teach the Book of Mormon and how we need to help our investigators understand how to recognize the Spirit. This was all attempted in Chinese. Two of the AP’s observed me at the same time. It was scary. They told me it’s ok that I didn’t know how to say a lot of what they wanted me to say in Chinese. The Chinese-speaking AP said he didn’t even know how to say it in Chinese either. I also got heaps of advice from other missionaries. It was a good experience.

I was surprised about what President Henderson said to me. He told me that “in the future, I am going to be a leader.” I thought he was referring to me being a trainer or being a sister training leader in the future, which freaked me out. After I returned to my flat, I realized that what he said wasn’t just referring to the mission. Even when I arrived in the ABM, I have been getting impressions that I am going to be leader. After President Henderson said that, I realized that I came on a mission to prepare to be a leader. Now that I think about it, everything said in my patriarchal blessing is preparing me to be a leader. I always thought I was going to be a follower the rest of my life, and I was content with that. Apparently, the Lord has been trying to tell me otherwise. I hope that I can do all that I can to prepare for whatever leadership position the Lord calls me to, whether it’s in this life or the next.

Something else that President Henderson told me is that as missionaries, we need to stay focused and not get side-tracked. He said that Satan will not tempt me with drugs and alcohol or anything like that. He will tempt me with losing focus on my work. He told me that losing focus is not harmless. Letting myself get distracted will hinder how effective I am with doing the Lord’s work. Whether it’s what I talk about with my companions or what I think, I need to have a firm mind. I need to be more determined and focused about doing what God wants me to do. I invite you all as well to be more focused on doing the Lord’s work. Don’t rationalize being side-tracked. It is not harmless.
 
The pictures below are of me eating Pringles with chopsticks and me at the temple at our zone temple day. Eating chips with chopsticks is actually really smart. You don’t get messy hands and it’s easier than it looks.

Thanks so much for all of your support! Your the best! Love you all! Keep doing the basics: reading scriptures, praying, and going to church. Always remember your baptismal and temple covenants. Always remember Christ. I’ll email you all next Monday.

Love,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan
Leave a Reply

