Nimen hao!

This week has been the most successful week of my mission, at least in terms of key indicators. We now have 6 people with a baptismal date: Cathy, Tony, Peter, Nick, Max (Persian), and Alvin. They will all be baptized by next transfer. We got 15 potential investigators. We taught a total of 18 lessons this past week. It was crazy! It was a huge improvement from past weeks. What I loved best about the week is that I realized that it’s not about how good our numbers look, but it’s about the people behind the numbers. I developed such a great love for all of the people we are working with. I felt like I got a little taste of what Christ did when he took upon Himself the suffering of the people. I feel like I am taking upon myself the pains and suffering of the people by trying to understand how they feel. It really hurts my heart. It has been humbling. Through this experience, I felt like I helped my investigators and members a lot more. I also felt like I better understood how to be more Christ-like.

Here’s a miracle: There was a girl that I contacted two transfers ago. Her name is Nancy. She is from China. She said she was willing to meet with us, except that she was going back to China for the summer (Australia summer-time). She finally got back and we will be meeting her this Saturday. She was with her boyfriend when I set up the appointment. I invited him to meet with us as well. He told me that he has met with one of the elders in my district, Elder Williams. Her boyfriend’s name is Dennis. When I asked the Elder Williams about Dennis, he told me that Dennis is pretty much a golden investigator. Dennis contacted Elder Williams. Dennis told him that he wanted to change his life and learn about Christ. Recently, Dennis hasn’t been able to meet because he is super busy. I have a feeling they will both be baptized in the church and get married in the temple. I am pretty sure of it! I am so excited!

Another cool thing that happened this week was that I was able to get 3 potential investigators in one day. I only talked to 12 people that day, and 3 of them agreed to a time to meet with us. Two of them I GQed a transfer or two ago and they remembered me. Using the Spirit really works when GQing. I was able to see the Spirit, through me, touch their hearts. It’s a great feeling.

Before I forget, the next time I will be emailing you is next Tuesday. That is transfer day. I could be in a whole other area the next time I email you. I am hoping that I can stay so I can see the progress of all of our investigators and members.

Here’s a quote that I have been thinking about a lot recently. I think I sent it to you all before. “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.” This quote is so good! It applies to everything and in any situation. I felt like I applied this throughout the week. I felt like that was the reason I was able to find so much success.

Here’s some pictures: The first one is if me and Sister Lai last P-day. My ankle was still hurting so I didn’t play rugby with our district. The other picture is of our district playing rugby. Tina and Fan also joined us. We all got together because it was Elder Wu’s birthday. The other picture is of us and Jessie. Jessie is a member who just left for China. She said she is going to try to go to BYU Provo. The next picture is right after Max did baptisms for the dead for the first time in the temple. We went just this past Saturday.

Thanks so much for your support! Keep doing what’s right! Keep doing what the Lord wants you all to do! Keep in touch! Love you all!

Love,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan

Leave a Reply

