Dajia hao!

Oh my goodness! This has been a crazy week. First of all, I got transferred…but not really. I am still in the city area, but I got transferred from River Terrace 3 to Brisbane Chinese. I still live in the same flat, but now I am with Sister Ng from Hong Kong. Haha, funny story about the transfer call. We had a zone conference call on Sunday night and they told me that I was leaving. I broke down crying, so I had no idea who else got transferred. I couldn’t stop crying for an hour. So many thoughts ran through my mind at the time. As much as I like EMP, I really wanted to die in the city (leaving the mission field from the city). I also felt like there was so much unfinished work that I needed to do that I wouldn’t be able to do since I am leaving. And there were dozens of other reasons why I didn’t want to leave. I said goodbye to heaps of people on Monday. We also had a sister’s regional meeting that night. Before the meeting started. I got a call from the assistants to the president. Elder Jensen asked me if I packed my bags yet. I told him no, even though I just packed up my clothes. He told me that I am getting transferred, but I am not moving house. I was so shocked that Elder Jensen asked me if I was doing ok. That was a crack up experience. Now I am in Brisbane Chinese. That was a humbling experience for me.

I am so grateful to be in the Brisbane Chinese area. We work in the same areas/boundaries (the city) with the River Terrace missionaries, but we attend different wards. Being in Brisbane Chinese though means that I work with the Brisbane and River Terrace ward, but we are primarily supposed to bring people to the Brisbane ward (the family ward). We can pretty much teach whoever we find, as long as they can attend either one of the wards. Our primary focus is on Chinese-speaking families though. Pretty much if anybody finds a Chinese-speaking family, they should be referring them to us. I feel like there is so much potential with this area. I feel like Sister Ng and I can take this area to new heights. We already discussed doing more inspired finding/contacting. Instead of going to Queen Street all of the time, we are going to try knocking on doors. Sister missionaries have not been in the Brisbane ward for a long time and none of the sisters that have been here have not really gone finding. I feel like we can get into doors that elders wouldn’t be able to get into. I am excited for this opportunity to teach families, especially Mandarin-speaking families (Cantonese-speaking as well because of Sister Ng).

Sister Chen and Sister Gong are companions. We said goodbye to Janice and Hirudo, two super solid investigators. We even said goodbye to Sister Jensen (my companion for 3 transfers in EMP). She had back/spine problems, so she had to go home early. She was supposed to leave in December, but she needed to rest instead of push herself to work.

Oh yeah…me and Sister Chen got our miracle on the ABM blog: http://www.australiabrisbanemission.com/. I think I already emailed you all the miracle about how Michiko got baptized, but if not, you can read it there.

I took heaps of pictures this past week, but I will share a couple right now. I will send more next week. The first picture is of Sister Ng and I at the transfer meeting. The next picture is of the “ABM 105 Joyful June 2014” shirts that we got as a gift for our hard work in getting 105 convert baptisms. The next picture is of our investigator Janice at our last lesson until she goes to Korea. The last picture is of Hirudo also at our last lesson until she goes back to Taiwan. She will then be moving to the UK to get her masters in economics. So smart all of these people that we work with.

What I learned this past week, or at least yesterday, was how relevant Alma 34:32-34 applies to the mission field. “For behold, “[the mission] is the time for men to prepare to meet God; yea, behold the day of [the mission] is the day for men to perform their labors. And now, as I said unto you before, as ye have had so many witnesses, therefore, I beseech of you that ye do not procrastinate the day of your repentance until the end [of the mission]; for after [the mission], which is given us to prepare for eternity [and the rest of your life], behold, if we do not improve our time while in [the mission], then cometh the night of darkness wherein there can be no labor performed. Ye cannot say, when ye are brought to that awful crisis (or at the end of the transfer), that I will repent, that I will return to my God. Nay, ye cannot say this; for that same spirit which doth possess your bodies at the time that ye go out of [the mission], that same spirit will have power to possess your body in that eternal world [and the rest of your life].” I was humbled all this week. I have the habit of being like, “Next transfer I’ll do this or that.” After the experience that I had with transfers these past couple of days, I told myself that will never say that again. I will start NOW!

But yeah, that was my week. Keep in touch. Take care. Do not procrastinate repentance. Love you all!

Loves,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan

Leave a Reply

