letters

Dajia hao!

I was able to get the package! Thank you so much for all the goodies and the lollies! (“lollies” means “candy” here in Australia). All of my flat mates were pretty excited for it too. I can’t remember if I told you all, but I renewed my license here. I was finally able to get it in the mail. I have an Aussie driver’s license, but it will only last me for a year. This will probably be the best souvenir from Australia I can get myself.

This week is week 6 of the transfer. The next time I email you, I will let you all know what the verdict is with next transfer. Only 3 full transfers left! Crazy!

This week, we saw a number of miracles. Two of our investigators agreed to be baptized: Eden and Dara. Eden is from Mongolia. She wanted to meet with us so she could practice her English. We weren’t sure how keen she was with investigating the church. During out latest meeting, she told us that she has been praying and she has been getting feelings she cannot describe. We pulled the trigger on her. Dara is from Cambodia. He is here for only a month doing a project to help those who are disabled in Cambodia (he is disabled himself). We can tell that he is interested in learning about the gospel. He agreed to be baptized, but we weren’t able to set a date because he will be leaving in the middle of September.

We also had success with some former investigators. I called a former investigator named Sarah. She was born in Russia, but I think she has been in Australia for a while. Sister Chen and I only taught her once, but she told us that we was interested in learning anymore. Overtime, she would text us asking us questions about life. Last month, she told us that prayer has helped her a lot. She has never prayed before. We were supposed to meet with her a week or two ago, but she didn’t respond to our texts. I called her on Thursday to see how she was doing. She told me how prayer has been continuing to change her life. She also said that she has been looking all over for a book that she thought I gave her. When we first met with her, I tried to give a Book of Mormon, but she refused. It was neat to hear that she had such a great desire to read the Book of Mormon.

We also have another former investigator named Ramsi. He is from Iraq. Sister Chen and I started teaching him two transfers ago. We taught him a couple of times, but the language barrier was pretty thick. He also has a very interesting religion. He is Christian, but they worship by doing things in the water. He showed us a video about how they worship. They can only worship in a body of water. Super interesting…anyways, Sister Ng and I ran into him on Queen St. a couple of weeks ago. We had the Brisbane elder’s investigator translate for us this past week. It actually went really well. We taught him the restoration and Ramsi said, “our religion is very similar to his.” I doubt it, but he is really interested to keep meeting with us though.

Here’s some pictures: The first three pictures are from last p-day. The first picture is from the Brisbane museum gallery. This is a close up of some old Chinese scrolls. Sister Ng didn’t even understand anything from it. The next picture is in the city hall museum. My cute, little companion. The next picture is from the top of the clock tower in city hall. The next picture is of me trying on a dress that an investigator gave to Sister Ng. I was the only one in the flat who could fit it.

This past week, I felt like a lot of my study revolved around “knowledge.” I learned the secret to being smart: love what you learn. I think some of the smartest people I have met so far in my life are the way they are because they love to learn about anything and everything. I took a step back and looked at myself: I am not smart because I look at learning as if it were a task. I pretty much had to repent of this. I do believe that God blesses us with knowledge. If we do not have the desire to learn, He will not bless us with knowledge. If He knows how much we want to learn, God will give us heaps of knowledge.

Thank you for all of your support. You all are the greatest! Keep up the desire to learn. Miss and love you all. Keep in touch.

Loves,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan

Leave a Reply

