LETTERS

Dajia hao!

I have never experienced so many blessings, miracles, temptations, challenges in any previous transfer than I have this one. It’s unbelievable. The mission has never been so bitter-sweet. President Henderson felt prompted to have a conference call with the missionaries that are leaving the mission field in two transfers. It was so inspired because I have been feeling that there is something more I needed to help me work through the last two transfers. He called us because he wanted to be a voice of warning against us being dodgy these last couple transfers. He called our point in the mission “the gunner lap.” He was likening the mission to track running. In track, they gun the last stretch. In the mission, we gun the last two transfers. He told us that these last two transfers will determine the rest of our life, our salvation. It was so powerful. I really felt like God was talking through President Henderson.

From that moment, I worked harder than I have ever worked. I feel like because of that, the Lord was giving me so much more power. I felt like the adversary recognized that, so he is using even more power against me and the people I am working with. Going to the temple today really helped me understand that Satan can be defeated as long as we keep our covenants. This really gives me hope. I really hope that I can help those that I work with realize this as well.

Here’s a quote that President Henderson mentioned in his weekly letter that I really like: “It was in solitude, pondering, and praying that Jesus made ready to battle Satan face to face and resist and overcome all of his enticements. It is not in the hurly-burly of everyday life, amid the pressures of business, society, and even family, that we marshal our greatest strengths, discern our hidden resources, and learn how to utilize our God-given powers in order to fight and vanquish the enemy. It is only in solitude, pondering, and meditating that we live in closest relationship with our Lord. (Joseph B. Wirthlin, Finding Peace in Our Lives, p.37).”

There’s a quote that our STL’s just texted us like half an hour ago that I really like: “Jesus trusts His followers enough to share his work with them so that they can grow. Jesus gave people truths and tasks that were matched to their capacity. He did not overwhelm them with more than they could manage, but gave enough to stretch their souls.” -President Kimball

I wish I had time to explain everything that happened and everything that I have learned in these past couple weeks, but there is too much to say! I really felt like I learned a lot because of our investigators, recent converts, and missionaries. Seeing them grow and overcome their challenges is seeing the Atonement of Jesus Christ in action. It’s fascinating!

Pictures of our adventures: The first picture is of the Brisbane temple. We were waiting for our investigators to come to the chapel, so I took heaps of pictures of the temple. The next picture is of the roses our investigator Rodessa gave us. The next picture is after trade offs with Sister Wainwright in Holland Park. The last picture is of Sister Gong and I after doing endowments with the Brisbane zone.

Love you all! Keep doing what’s right. Remember your covenants. God will take you all so far if you keep them. Always live temple worthy. Talk to you all next week.

Loves,
Song Jie Mei
Sister Cabamongan

Leave a Reply

